Headlines & Announcements

Community Development

Posted on: January 11, 2019

Applications Sought for Planning & Zoning Commission

Bismarck Mayor Steve Bakken is looking for candidates interested in serving on the Bismarck Planning and Zoning Commission. The volunteer committee has one open position for an unexpired term through April 2021.  Anyone residing in the City of Bismarck is eligible for this appointment.

Interested applicants should complete an application form describing their qualifications, background and why they would like to serve on the Commission. Complete applications should be sent to:

Kim Lee, AICP, Acting Director

Community Development Department

P.O. Box 5503

Bismarck, ND 58506-5503

The application forms may be found on the City of Bismarck website at: application form

Forms can also be mailed by calling the Community Development Department at (701) 355-1840 or may be picked up at the department office at 221 N 5th Street, Bismarck.  Additional information on the position and the appointment process can also be obtained by contacting the department office.

The deadline for applications is Friday, February 1, 2019. It is anticipated that the new board member will be announced at the February 12, 2019, Board of City Commissioners’ meeting.

The Bismarck Planning and Zoning Commission is an 11 member advisory board to the City Commission. The Bismarck Planning and Zoning Commission includes the Mayor; five Bismarck residents appointed by the Mayor; a Burleigh County Commissioner; three members appointed by the Burleigh County Commission to represent the City’s extraterritorial area; and the City Engineer, who serves as an ex officio member. In addition, for applications within the extraterritorial area, a township supervisor from the organized township in which the property is located participates as a voting member for that item. The Bismarck Planning and Zoning Commission hears requests for major and minor subdivision plats, zoning changes, zoning ordinance text amendments, annexations, special use permits and rural lot splits. The City of Bismarck has zoning and subdivision authority within the corporate limits and the extraterritorial area. 

The Planning and Zoning Commission board meets the fourth Wednesday of every month at 5:00 p.m. in the City-County Office Building, 221 N 5th Street, Bismarck.

Facebook Twitter Email