Community Development


The Community Development Department has three divisions - Building InspectionsPlanning and the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) and is overseen by the Director of Community Development.
The City of Bismarck's Community Development Department has planning, zoning and building inspection authority within the City of Bismarck and its extra-territorial area (ETA).

On January 1, 2014, a revised extra-territorial area (ETA) boundary for the City of Bismarck went into effect (map). This ETA boundary was negotiated between the City and Burleigh County. The City also has negotiated ETA boundaries with Apple Creek Township and Naughton Township.

In addition, as of January 1, 2014, Burleigh County discontinued its contract for planning and building inspection services with the City of Bismarck. The Burleigh County Building/Planning/Zoning Department can be reached at (701)221-3727.

Resources & Information

Bismarck Advisory Board Application
2010-2040 Metropolitan Population Projections
Bismarck-Burleigh County Actual & Projected Populations
Bismarck Census Summary 1990-2010