Qualifications for Voting

Qualifications for Voting

For more information, contact the Burleigh County Auditor at (701) 222-6718 or visit Absentee Ballot and Voting Precinct Information.

In order to vote in North Dakota, you must be:
  • A U.S. citizen.
  • At least 18 years old on the day of an election.
  • A legal North Dakota resident.
  • A resident in the precinct for 30 days preceding the election.

Remember, for the purposes of voting, a person may have only one residence, shown by an actual fixed permanent dwelling, or any other abode. Residency in North Dakota is defined in North Dakota Century Code, Section 54-01-26 which states:

Every person has in law a residence. In determining the place of residence, the following rules must be observed:
  • It is the place where one remains when not called elsewhere for labor or other special or temporary purpose, and to which he or she returns in seasons of repose.
  • There can be only one residence.
  • A residence cannot be lost until another is gained
  • The residence can be changed only by the union of act and intent.
Acceptable forms of identification must include the voter's:
  • Name
  • Residential Address - Post Office boxes do not establish residency and cannot be accepted.
  • Date of Birth

Acceptable forms of ID – Polling Place Voting

A Valid North Dakota:
  • Driver’s license
  • Non-driver’s identification card
  • Tribal government issued identification card - with residential address
  • Student identification certificate (provided by ND college or university)
  • Long-term care identification certificate (provided by ND facility)
Acceptable forms of ID – Absentee/Mail Voting
  • North Dakota form of identification listed above
  • Passport or Military ID – Only for North Dakota residents living outside the United States who do not possess one of the other forms of identification.
Attester – An applicant without an acceptable form of identification may use an attester. The attester must provide his or her name, North Dakota driver’s license, non-driver’s, or tribal identification number, and sign the absentee/mail ballot application form to attest to the applicant’s North Dakota residency and voting eligibility.